ArabianLines.Com Forum
Save Password     








 All Forums
 HELP & SUPPORT
 HELP & SUPPORT
 Editing and log-in
 New Topic  Reply to Topic  Printer Friendly
Author  Topic Next Topic  

gardenia
Bronze Member


83 Posts

Posted - 21 Jan 2015 :  1:48:41 PM  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add gardenia to your friends list Send gardenia a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Currently I can make posts and they go through with my user name but I can't seem to find a way to edit them, no icon. I also can't access other parts of AL without being asked to log-in, yet I can post without being asked to log-in. I suspect the inability to edit might be related to this. Have I done something wrong or is there a problem with the site? Thanks.
Report to moderator

Rui
AL Admin


6759 Posts

Posted - 21 Jan 2015 :  5:00:46 PM  Show Profile  Visit Rui's Homepage Bookmark this reply Add Rui to your friends list Send Rui a Private Message  Reply with Quote
No, the site is fine. You must login before you can edit your posts. You don't need to login to post, as you have found. However, when you post without loging, you are asked to insert your username and password. That is valid just for that post, it still does not log you in.

How to post flickr photos on AL | How to post photobucket pictures on AL | How to post facebook pictures on AL
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

gardenia
Bronze Member

83 Posts

Posted - 21 Jan 2015 :  5:45:03 PM  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add gardenia to your friends list Send gardenia a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Thanks Rui. I didn't realize one could post without logging in. Always before it has asked me for my username and password when I try to post if I'm not logged in, but I'm sure it didn't this week. If it had I'd have had to look up my password to make sure I got it right!

I'd also thought I wasn't getting a log in box at the top right of the page and thus was logged in, but that was because the page is big on my laptop and the box is off to one side and off the screen and needs scrolling sideways, so I've now found that.

I'm not logged in now so I'll see if it asks me for username and password when I try to post this. If I don't post back you'll know it did.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

gardenia
Bronze Member

83 Posts

Posted - 21 Jan 2015 :  5:46:20 PM  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add gardenia to your friends list Send gardenia a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Nope, it didn't ask for my username and password, I just got the thanks for posting message.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Rui
AL Admin


6759 Posts

Posted - 21 Jan 2015 :  6:18:29 PM  Show Profile  Visit Rui's Homepage Bookmark this reply Add Rui to your friends list Send Rui a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Your browser may have the details saved and does not ask you for them, when posting logged out. I did some checks and can confirm you're not logged in, at least not at the moment.

How to post flickr photos on AL | How to post photobucket pictures on AL | How to post facebook pictures on AL
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

gardenia
Bronze Member

83 Posts

Posted - 21 Jan 2015 :  6:44:41 PM  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add gardenia to your friends list Send gardenia a Private Message  Reply with Quote
You must be right, I just tried posting from IE which I normally don't use and it complained, there is a problem. So somehow Firefox is providing my username and password for posts without asking. I already have Remember Search and Form History disabled, so is this a bug in Firefox?

I thought it wouldn't be logging me in other than for the whole site when I start entering my username in the top right log-in box. When I do that it brings up my username and I have to select it before it enters the password. Yet for individual posts it's somehow going it alone!
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Rui
AL Admin


6759 Posts

Posted - 21 Jan 2015 :  10:59:23 PM  Show Profile  Visit Rui's Homepage Bookmark this reply Add Rui to your friends list Send Rui a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I am sorry, I am not a frequent Firefox user, but I would guess it probably has a password manager and a form manager. The former should be responsible for keeping your username and password at the ready when you post without login.

How to post flickr photos on AL | How to post photobucket pictures on AL | How to post facebook pictures on AL
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

gardenia
Bronze Member

83 Posts

Posted - 22 Jan 2015 :  12:50:56 AM  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add gardenia to your friends list Send gardenia a Private Message  Reply with Quote
The odd thing, though, is that if I try to go to my profile it brings up log-in boxes and Firefox doesn't fill those in. It also doesn't fill in the regular log-in box at the top right. In both of those cases if I start typing in my username it brings up a pop up that I can select and then it will auto-fill my password and I have to click on enter to log-in. I don't understand why it would automatically give my username and ID in the background only when I post. I guess it will have to remain a mystery! Thank you, Rui.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

Rui
AL Admin


6759 Posts

Posted - 22 Jan 2015 :  01:11:17 AM  Show Profile  Visit Rui's Homepage Bookmark this reply Add Rui to your friends list Send Rui a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Sorry, but it really is not a mystery. Browser password managers recognize specific web pages (like the forum's posting page) and not domains (like arabianlines.com). I suppose that sometime in the past you came to AL and posted without being logged in, inserted the username and password and Firefox saved them (maybe even asking for your consent before). The username and password were saved for that specific page - the forum posting page.
When you visit the profile page here, it's a different page, so Firefox won't use the username and password because they were saved for the posting page.

Issue aside, there are some nice tools, called password managers, that associate login details with domains, even allowing you to have multiple details for the same website. I use one of those (LastPass) and it can automatically insert my login details in every page associated with a given domain. That usually works very well (well, in about 99,99% of the times).

How to post flickr photos on AL | How to post photobucket pictures on AL | How to post facebook pictures on AL
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page

gardenia
Bronze Member

83 Posts

Posted - 22 Jan 2015 :  12:18:40 PM  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add gardenia to your friends list Send gardenia a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Thanks for the LastPass suggestion. I know about the specific page rather than domain, that's part of why it was puzzling me. I usually log in if I want to post, and Firefox saved the username and password for the main log-in. Yet for whatever reason it doesn't auto-fill that one, and when I prompt it I still have to press the button, yet somehow it does it all by itself for an individual post when not logged-in. Anyway, I've stopped that by deleting AL from the password manager since I mostly just read anyway. If I want to post I'll log-in "manually". Thanks again.
Report to Moderator Go to Top of Page
   Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic  Printer Friendly
Jump To:

AL Main Site | Profile | Active Topics | Register | Retrieve Password | Search

ArabianLines.Com Forum © 2001 - 2014 www.arabianlines.com Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.39 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000